Together, Julie’s Bicycle and Happy Museum seek to accelerate the transition to a sustainable and climate resilient cultural sector which fosters the wellbeing of people, place and planet.

As part of our collaboration and partnership, we are happy to confirm the members of the Happy Museum Steering Group who will work with Julie’s Bicycle to shape our strategic direction and open up new opportunities.

The new Steering Group will be:

Brendan Carr, Community Engagement Curator, Reading Museum; Robert Janes, Visiting Research Fellow, Museum Studies (University of Leicester, UK) and Founder and Co-Chair, Coalition of Museums for Climate Justice; Peter Lefort, University of Exeter and co-chair of Transition Network and Lisa Ollerhead, recently-appointed Director of the Association of Independent Museums and former Head of Museums Policy at DCMS.

In addition, Anna Bunney and Natalie Ireland (formerly part of the Happy Museum board) will serve on the Steering Group for one year; and Alison Tickell, CEO of Julie’s Bicycle, will attend all Steering Group meetings.  Initial meetings will also be attended by Hilary Jennings, Happy Museum Director.  The Group will come together for the first time in August.

We are touched by the strong passion, huge experience and diverse interests which people are bringing to this role, and excited to pass the community, assets and opportunities of the Happy Museum Project to them and to Julie’s Bicycle.

Read more about the Steering Group members.